top of page

The Nutcracker

Bob Baker Marionette Theater

November 30, 2024 - January 5, 2025

Sierra Madre Playhouse
87 W Sierra Madre Blvd
Sierra Madre, CA 91024

Bob Baker’s Nutcracker debuts at the Sierra Madre Playhouse in 2024 to delight Angelenos and visitors alike! Created in 1969, this marionette adaptation of the classic ballet brings together traditional favorites, including Clara and Fred, the Nutcracker, the Rat King, and the Sugerplum Fairy, alongside Bob Baker’s playful and delightful creations and additions.


This project was funded (in part) by a grant from Pasadena Showcase House for the Arts.

Artists

*Appearing through an Agreement between this theatre, Sierra Madre Playhouse, and Actors' Equity Association, the Union of Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United States.

About

Bob Baker’s Nutcracker debuts at the Sierra Madre Playhouse in 2024 to delight Angelenos and visitors alike! Nutcracker remains a holiday favorite with sold out shows and encore performances every year. Created in 1969, this marionette adaptation of the classic ballet brings together traditional favorites, including Clara and Fred, the Nutcracker, the Rat King, and the Sugerplum Fairy, alongside Bob Baker’s playful and delightful creations and additions. Bob’s original Nutcracker show was performed with hand-and-rod puppets, but over the years, the talented team of artisans and craftspeople at BBMT have created a dreamscape adaptation of the ballet with large scale marionettes and intricate sets. Now an established yuletide tradition for Angelenos of all ages, Bob Baker’s Nutcracker has been carefully preserved and renovated for a special 2024 presentation at the Playhouse.


TICKETS: $25


Saturday, Nov 30 (10:30 AM, 1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Sunday, Dec 1 (1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Saturday, Dec 7 (10:30 AM, 1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Sunday, Dec 8 (1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Saturday, Dec 14 (10:30 AM, 1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Sunday, Dec 15 (1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Monday, Dec 16 (4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Tuesday, Dec 17 (4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Wednesday, Dec 18 (4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Thursday, Dec 19 (4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Friday, Dec 20 (4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Saturday, Dec 21 (10:30 AM, 1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Sunday, Dec 22 (1:30 PM)

Monday, Dec 23 (1:30 PM, 4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Friday, Dec 27 (4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Saturday, Dec 28 (10:30 AM, 1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Sunday, Dec 29 (1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Monday, Dec 30 (4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Thursday, Jan 2 (4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Friday, Jan 3 (4:30 PM, 7:00 PM)

Saturday, Jan 4 (10:30 AM, 1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

Sunday, Jan 5 (1:30 PM, 4:30 PM)

bottom of page